Protected characteristics

At St. John's, we teach children that we all have characteristics and that 9 are protected.


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, these are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race - including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

No form of discrimination is tolerated at St.John's and we show respect to all. We ensure that those members of our community who share protected characteristics are respected and cared for. 


We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at St. John's.


The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:

Our school vision and our school improvement work

Our school core values - kindness, resilience, joy, love, respect, gratitude.

St. John's school behaviour policy

Regular assemblies 

Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community

Active engagement and communication with parents and carers

Curriculum subjects mapped, planned and linked carefully to ensure they reflect our diverse community

The curriculum planned and delivered so that children develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at the school.

Modelling and teaching appropriate vocabulary

Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) sessions

Religious Education and RSE lessons 

Pupil Voice opportunities

Educational visits

Pupil leadership activities

Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community

Continuing Rights Respecting Schools work 

Debate and P4C sessions

Protected Characteristics through our RE and RSE lessons (Ten Ten)